Behind the Scenes at Evolve Lactation

Here’s what I use to create my Substack:

  • I develop ideas and first drafts by hand, usually in an Erin Condren notebook or notepad because I like the weight of the paper

  • I write on a MacBook

  • I use Canva to create graphics (for this and literally everything else I ever need a graphic for)

  • I take photos on my iPhone XR

  • I take notes when I’m away from my office on my iPhone in the Notes app

  • I sometimes use photos in my graphics which I am permitted to use as part of my subscription to Social Curator, which describes itself as “is a monthly subscription that provides you with customizable caption templates, lifestyle photos, Instagram story sets, daily bite-sized actions to take on social media, and a monthly marketing action plan to save you time when using social media for your business.”

  • I learned how to create courses and online teaching methods from Amy Porterfield and Digital Course Academy

  • I organize and execute larger projects on ClickUp

I generally write a post in one shot, edit it either immediately or about 24 hours later, and publish. I don’t like to let drafts linger because then I have a tendency to change them too much.

Sometimes the long-form post comes first, and other times it’s the one-liner that you see in the graphic.

I definitely overthink things, overanalyze things, and doubt that anyone will care if I write them. Then I get over it, write it, and publish it.

I like including links to other things because as a reader, I like seeing lots of links in an article or post. I actually do click them and read them.

I subscribe to new Substacks all the time. I really read them. I am trying very hard to get the people closest to me to get into Substack as well. I’ll keep you posted on my success.

I make liberal use of the ability to turn off Notifications for anything on my phone. I actually hate getting notifications; it doesn’t sit well with me. Unfortunately, you know as well as I do that they are sometimes, in some cases, a necessary part of life. However, I set boundaries for myself by turning off certain things at certain times. I also LOVE that I can have notifications delivered only intermittently throughout the day (iPhone calls this Scheduled Notifications.)

When I’m not actively writing something, I’m taking in Source, as described in one of my favorite books, The Creative Act, A Way of Being by Rick Rubin (yes, THAT Rick Rubin.) It’s really, really good.

I’m a podcast person; one of my favorites is The Huberman Lab Podcast. I love the way he breaks down questions and answers them with science (like, with peer-reviewed research articles.) I’ve learned so much from that one podcast.

I listen to lots of different kinds of podcasts, but never fiction. Rarely do I listen to podcasts about lactation, believe it or not.

I read. A lot. Again, mostly non-fiction. Certain historical events hold a specific fascination for me; Hurricane Katrina, for instance. I also own (and read over and over) my growing collection of books about mountain climbing. I have no interest in climbing mountains, but ever since I read Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer in 1999, I’ve been enthralled. There’s so much history and perspective to be gleaned from reading about the pursuit of mountain summits. I like to find old books about it in secondhand bookshops. (I’ve also read everything else Jon Krakauer has written.)

I walk a lot. Daily walks became my thing beginning in March 2020, and it’s so ingrained now. I walk with my husband, my daughters, my dogs, and by myself.

No Air Pods. Can’t do it; they hurt my ears. For work on meetings I wear over-the-ear headphones like a 70’s radio DJ.

If I think of more, I’ll add it. If you’re still reading this, wow, I’m surprised! And thanks - you’ve given me your time and it means a lot to me.

Share Evolve Lactation with Christine Staricka IBCLC